Fond-de-Gras was one of the most important mining centers in Luxembourg. However, the extraction of underground ore ended in 1955. In 1964, a landslide on the Fond-de-Gras - Pétange railway line put a deﬁnitive end to all railway activity. Quickly, volunteers get involved to run a tourist train with historic steam locomotives. The first “Train 1900” whistled in 1973..
A few years later, an old mine is open again and can be visited thanks to the “Minièresbunn” mining train which today offers an impressive experience during the visit to the bottom of the mine..
Now known as Minett Park Fond-de-Gras, this open-air museum offers numerous complementary activities, the red thread of which is iron ore. It includes: Fond-de-Gras, the village of Lasauvage, the former open-pit mine “Giele Botter” and the Celtic oppidum of Titelberg..VISIT THE FOND-DE-GRAS