Visits

The historical trains

Historically, the Fond-de-Gras was one of the most important mining centres in Luxembourg. A few years after the closure of the last mine at the Fond-de-Gras in 1964, a few volunteers worked to preserve part of the railway line with the aim of operating a tourist train on the line. The first train ran in 1973.

Today these two trains continue to delight young and old.

  • The 1900 Train runs between Pétange and Fond-de-Gras, on the former "Mining Line". The train line was opened in 1874 in order to transport the iron ore extracted from neighbouring mines. A truly unique experience in Luxembourg and the Greater Region - step back in time with the 1900 Train.
  • Back when the mines were operational, mining trains were vital for removing the iron ore carriages from the mine. At present, the Minièresbunn runs between Fond-de-Gras and Lasauvage and offers a sensational experience when visiting the bottom of the mine.

Pricing and schedules : mining train "Minièresbunn" and Train 1900 

The historical trains, Related activities

Visites

Les deux trains historiques

Le Fond-de-Gras a été un des plus importants centres d’exploitation minière au Luxembourg. Quelques années après la fermeture de la dernière mine au Fond-de-Gras (1964), des bénévoles s’engagent pour préserver une partie de la ligne ferroviaire dans le but d’y faire circuler un train touristique. Le premier siffle en 1973.

Aujourd'hui ces deux trains continuent à enchanter petits et grands.

  • Le Train 1900 roule entre Pétange et le Fond-de-Gras, sur l'ancienne « Ligne des Minières », ouverte en 1874 pour le transport du minerai de fer exploité dans les mines avoisinantes. Expérience unique au Luxembourg et dans la Grande Région, le trajet en Train 1900 est un véritable voyage dans le temps.
  • A l'époque de l'exploitation minière, les trains miniers sont indispensables pour sortir, de la mine, les wagonnets chargés de minerai de fer. Aujourd’hui, la « Minièresbunn » circule entre le Fond-de-Gras et Lasauvage et propose une expérience impressionnante lors de la visite au fond de la mine.

Horaires et tarifs : Train minier "Minièresbunn" et Train 1900

Les deux trains historiques, Activités liées